CPT 499-2


by: Web Web

The first album of Web Web is very uncut, raw, live and direct. „Oracle“ is the first output of a German Supergroup. Check the musician credits below and you’ll get the score. The initial idea was to record a spiritual-jazz type of album, with all its imperfection as far as intonation, sound, influences of tunes… just like from their big jazz-heroes in the 70ies (e.g. Strata East, Black Jazz).

CD-Digipack -
€ 12.00
incl. 19% Tax (MwSt.) - plus Shipping
00:00 / 00:00
  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    01 Web Web - Kings Of Forbidden Lands

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    02 Web Web - Journey To No End

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    03 Web Web - The Ring Of - Part One

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    04 Web Web - Unreal Prediction

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    05 Web Web - New World Trinity

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    06 Web Web - The Ring Of - Part Two

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    07 Web Web - The Oracle

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    08 Web Web - Red Sunrise

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    09 Web Web - Dada

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    10 Web Web - The Ring Of - Part Three

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    11 Web Web - Nonviolent Constellations

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    12 Web Web - The Ring Of - Part Four

  • CPT499-2 Web Web - Oracle/

    13 Web Web - Alternate Truth

Buy digital:

Web Web’s idea was to record a jazz jam session while to found and proclaim being a fictive band, a formation, which did not exist, while telling people, it would be a secret jam session recording of the Seventies. The prompt problem they were facing: Oh, we never would be able to play concerts, doing interviews, or placing photos on sleeves or post likeness images online. So they decided to reveal their real identities:

Web Web are: Roberto Di Gioia (Piano, Synth, Percussion), Tony Lakatos (Tenor- and Sopranosaxophone), Christian von Kaphengst (Upright Bass) and Peter Gall (Drums).

Roberto Di Gioia (Mastermind of Web Web): „The four of us set up very close in a big room, so we could hear and feel each other the best way. The music became more intensive, improvisations became more dynamic and it was impulsive.“

The album „Oracle“ was recorded on one day, only first takes were used!

We want to keep the burning spirit and the loose vibe we had during the recording session. And we play concerts the wild and free way we recorded this album. Web Web will be on tour 2018, but playing a few concerts in 2017.

Furthermore, one main decision to blab their real identities was: The second Web Web album is recorded in June (with guests like the famous and unique Gembri-player and multiinstrumentalist and singer Majid Bekkas from Morocco).

Both albums were engineered, recorded and mixed by Jan Krause (Beanfield, Poets Of Rhythm).

Roberto Di Gioia: „Tony was tuning his Soprano too high, and his (overdubbed) tenor way too flat!

My synthesizers were somewhere in between…HA! We exactly had the sound we had in our minds, we had it exactly there were we wanted it: a bit of Sun Ra here, a bit of Horace Tapscott there.

On some tunes Tony’s soprano just sounds like a trumpet, since due to his weird tuning the soprano develops different frequencies in relation to other instruments.“

„Oracle“ is the first live jazz release on Compost. Produced by Roberto Di Gioia and Michael Reinboth.

Roberto Di Gioia has been working with numerous jazz-legends, such as Woody Shaw, Art Farmer, James Moody, Johnny Griffin, Charlie Rouse, Clifford Jordan, Clark Terry, Roy Ayers, Gregory Porter and many more.

From 1990 to 2008: member Klaus Doldingers Passport. As a pianist he made recordings with Udo Lindenberg (MTV-Unplugged, 2011), Charlie Watts („Music Of The Rolling Stones“, 2005), Console („Reset The Preset“, 2003), The Notwist („Shrink“ 1998, „Neon Golden“, 2002). Since 2007 he is working together with Samon Kawamura and Max Herre as KAHEDI: Max Herre („Hallo Welt“, 2012), Joy Denalane („Gleisdreieck“, 2017), u.v.m...His own group MARSMOBIL (produced by Peter Kruder) will release his fourth studioalbum in winter 2017.

Tony Lakatos originates from the world famous Lakatos-familiy from Budapest, Hungary. His father was a famous violinist, as well as his younger brother Roby. He started playing saxophone when he was 15 years old.

Tony studied at the Bela-Bartok-Conservatory in Budapest, and made his degree in 1979. Since then he played on over 350 jazz albums (!!), to name a few: Al Foster, Kirk Lightsey, Randy Brecker, George Mraz, David Witham, Terri Lyne Carrington, Anthony Jackson. Tony was a member of Jasper Van´t Hofs PILI PILI. Since 1993 he is working with the HR Radio-Bigband as a soloist.

Christian von Kaphengst learned the piano at the Peter-Cornelius-Conservatory in Mainz when he was 6 years old. From 1988 to 1995 he studied upright-bass at the „Musikhochschule“ in Cologne. He was touring with his own Jazzquartett „Cafe du Sport“ to Pakistan, India, Turkey and West-Africa. Since 1999 he regularly plays with Patti Austin and The New York Voices in Europe. Von Kaphengst played with the greatest musicians, such as Randy Brecker, Nat Adderley, Roy Hargrove, Joe Sample, Charlie Mariano, Katja Ebstein, Xavier Naidoo, Roachford, Yvonne Catterfeld.

Peter Gall won some important German awards already when he was a youngster, like „Jugend Jazzt“. He was touring with the famous „Bundesjazzorchester“ conducted by German jazz legend Peter Herbholzheimer. He studied at the Berlin University Of Fine Arts and at the Jazz Institute Berlin with John Hollenbeck. Gall made a masterclass at the Manhattan School Of Music with John Riley. He has been working with Seamus Blake, Ben Street, Gabriel Rios, Jasmin Tabatabai, Thomas Quasthoff, Peter Fessler.